At Least it isn’t Cancer

Friend: How is all of your health stuff going, have they figured it out yet?Red 3D Cells

Me: I explain how I am chasing another diagnosis with new tests, trying to sound positive about the potential of having my pancreas removed, or some other super-fun procedure.

Friend: Well, at least it isn’t cancer!

How does one respond to that? Yes, cancer is a monster of a disease that can ultimately kill you. No, I do not wish chemo on anyone. And, yes, the people I know who have fought or are fighting that demon are super-heroes in my eyes. I realize that this friend is trying to make me (or them-self) feel better about my completely depressing health situation; it comes from a good place. But I have no idea how to respond.

If I say, “Yes! Cancer would really suck!” we can all just move the conversation along to what we are doing for the holidays, or something equally pleasant. And that is what I usually do, because I am not a masochist and I’d like to be invited to lunch again. But this quietly denies the power of my own disease in some way, the reality of my life. If it isn’t cancer, it really can’t be that grim, right?

There isn’t any purpose in playing compare the malady. Everyone is fighting his or her own great battle. But I would be lying if I said I haven’t considered whether or not I would trade my ailment for a cancer diagnosis, you can’t help it when people unfailingly reference it. Some days I do wish I could trade my near constant nausea and pain with a definitive chemo treatment. I wish I had an illness people had heard of, had a healthy respect for, because I am weary of trying to explain it in a way that fits our world’s short attention span. I face the fact that this thing might slay me everyday. Even worse, it might just suck every last bit of marrow from my miraculous life over the next 40 years. And, ironically, it often causes the big C.

I actually have very little interest in mulling over every gory detail at lunch. I want to laugh and talk about my kids. I deeply appreciate your concerned inquiries and it really is just enough that you asked, that you recognized the darkness for a moment. Please know, that simple act is enough, you don’t have say something to make me feel better. I can see, just by looking into your eyes, that you wish it were so.

2 responses to this post.

  1. So good to hear from you again, I love to read your thoughts on here. I am sorry you have to experience this. I too wrote a post about this exact same comment and I feel the exact same way as you. It’s so tricky to try and explain to people why this is almost hurtful in a way. Please know I understand, and I am sending you a hug and wishes for a happy, healthy future.

    ~wwww.thesenext6months.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. There is something very comforting about synergy of experiences. Such a bitter sweet thing, knowing others are experiencing the same thing. Much happiness to you too Eliza.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

SeasonedSistah2

Today is Better Than Yesterday

These Next 6 Months

It's all about perspective...

The New Melissa

Finding the new "normal" and creating a new life with migraine disease

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Chronically Inspired

Rising Above Pain Creatively

intoxreport.wordpress.com/

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

Living Life As I See Fit

Because There is More To Me Than Just Rheumatoid Arthritis & Fibromyalgia

The Diary of a Happy Mom: 40 and Beyond

The trials and tribulations of an adventurous modern mom

Pain In The Mom

...trying to keep sane while in chronic pelvic pain

Graceful Agony

Living your best life in spite of having chronic illness and pain

grUBER FIT

Health, Fitness, Experience, and Adventure

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Not From Around Here

Adventures as a Stranger in a Strange Land

Tea Time with Mandy

Only in Canada? Pity.

