Love at first sight

Eight weeks ago I delivered the most beautiful baby girl ever to appear on God’s green earth, which is good, considering her sister is also the most amazing creature known to man…it would have been awkward to have a less than miraculous second child. I have submerged myself in this new mom crazy, falling head over heals for this being. I am obsessed with the complete and pure sincerity in her eyes (I keep hearing Linus in my head, proclaiming the sincerity of his pumpkin patch). I’ll write more about the delivery and pain stuff in the near future, but for now, I’d rather be rubbing my cheeks against her warm head.

I am due back to work tomorrow morning and life is about to come crashing in. As I was leaving my final OB appointment, I cried in my car. This pregnancy was never supposed to happen, and when it did, it was as though the sky opened and the sun shown. It was one of the toughest and fulfilling adventures I’ve ever had. More than anything, it gave this random pain meaning. I was suffering for a purpose. And now I am just a mom again. A tired, working mom with chronic pain. So I realize the next part of this life may actually require more strength and spirit than the last 12 months did.

My little one just sighed in her sleep. I’m her mom. If anything can inspire greatness, it is what she holds in the palm of her tiny hands.

5 responses to this post.

  1. You’re inspirational, Malia. I remember so clearly when you started down this path, and I’m filled with joy for you that you have this perfect little life to hold at the end of it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by natalie neamonn on October 17, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    so happy for you all!!! I want to meet this perfect little girl!!!!!! good luck back to work Mama you can do it!!! love ya

    Reply

  3. Thank you for this morning’s inspiration. If there’s ever a time I can take a walk over to your house and check this baby out let me know. It will only be me as my child would be a bit of a handful around a new baby.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Tyra on October 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS…CONGRATULATIONS…CONGRATULATIONS – for all of it. Your brave battles. This particular path. Your remarkable family. Your being “just” a mom. Your being an amazing woman. Congratulations!!!!

    Reply

  5. Thanks so much Ladies, couldn’t have done it without a bunch of amazing moms supporting me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

SeasonedSistah2

Today is Better Than Yesterday

These Next 6 Months

It's all about perspective...

The New Melissa

Finding the new "normal" and creating a new life with migraine disease

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Chronically Inspired

Rising Above Pain Creatively

intoxreport.wordpress.com/

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

Living Life As I See Fit

Because There is More To Me Than Just Rheumatoid Arthritis & Fibromyalgia

The Diary of a Happy Mom: 40 and Beyond

The trials and tribulations of an adventurous modern mom

Pain In The Mom

...trying to keep sane while in chronic pelvic pain

Graceful Agony

Living your best life in spite of having chronic illness and pain

grUBER FIT

Health, Fitness, Experience, and Adventure

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Not From Around Here

Adventures as a Stranger in a Strange Land

Tea Time with Mandy

Only in Canada? Pity.

