The Posse

I’m having a freaky Friday experience, I have suddenly taken on the patience of a 5 year old. Not to say I’ve ever been much for waiting, but now that we are down to 5 weeks, I have no control. This trapped in my house because it is 100 degrees outside summer is not helping matters. I’ve spent  the last week distracting myself with recon and posse building. 

I don’t want to seem anti-Doctor here. I think my family wants what everyone wants: a positive delivery experience, to kiss those baby cheeks as quickly as we can, and a couple days of peaceful recovery with our new daughter. There is a lot of misunderstanding, fear and judgment surrounding pain treatment in the medical field and I don’t want our baby or birth to end up in the middle of that mess. Therefore, I’m building the posse, a group of docs who know my history and whom I trust to help me avoid the horror stories.

Horror story number one floating around the pain community is that an unfamiliar delivery Doc sees the Vicodin on your chart and immediately removes the baby from your care, sending her straight for the NICU.  I am trying to avoid that by scheduling my C-section with my regular (Super) OB and meeting with our Ped before the birth (posse members 1 and 2).  No one needs a shocked, angry mom in the OR.

Horror story number two already happened to me: After a  GI surgery a year ago I was admitted for pain relief and observation. My pain clinic had already given their permission to treat my pain as needed. The hospital anesthesiologist, however, was scared to medicate me and I went days without pain management.  The hell of the surgery recovery, in addition to  feeling like some sort of drug seeker, was scarring. This time around I’m involving my pain Doc from the start (member number 3), making sure that she will be available to intervene if I have trouble after the C-section.  An un-medicated mom is not something anyone needs to experience.

Breast feeding is a bit of a controversy (when is it not).  Recent studies show that reasonably medicated moms can breast feed quite successfully. The amount of the drug that actually ends up getting to the baby is minuet and the benefits of breastfeeding often out-weigh the risk. That does not mean the hospital’s lactation consultant has any experience with pain medications or is aware of these studies. I’m meeting with my Ped’s consultant to form a plan for this as well (number 4).

With the posse on my side, I’m feeling READY… NOW! The baby moved from a transverse position to heads down this week (we watched her punch me in the gut on another healthy ultrasound),  my husband painted the kiddo’s room lavender and my daughter put a teddy bear in the highchair, to hold down the seat until her sister comes.

God help me in the next few weeks, but we’re getting there little one. We’ve almost made it to the cheek squishing part.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jane on July 18, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Almost cried. As a nurse in a surgical area, I can certainly attest that people with chronic pain are almost invariably managed badly in hospital.I’m cheering on The Posse! In awe and admiration of your foresight and determination to get the best possible scenario for you, your baby and your family!

    Jane
    xxx

    Reply

    • Thank you so much Jane. I have had amazing experiences with hospital staff (and wonderful nurses), but we all have to advocate for ourselves these days.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Renee on July 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Cheek squishage is the BEST! Can’t wait! Go posse!

    Reply

  3. […] 2 days refusing to adjust my pain prescription, calling my Pediatrician to report my drug use. The posse paid off and my Ped came to the rescue – delivering copies of our plan and research. In the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Littlest Rabbit

Just another WordPress.com weblog

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

SeasonedSistah2

Today is Better Than Yesterday

These Next 6 Months

It's all about perspective...

The New Melissa

Finding the new "normal" and creating a new life with migraine disease

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Chronically Inspired

Rising Above Pain Creatively

intoxreport.wordpress.com/

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

Living Life As I See Fit

Because There is More To Me Than Just Rheumatoid Arthritis & Fibromyalgia

The Diary of a Happy Mom: 40 and Beyond

The trials and tribulations of an adventurous modern mom

Pain In The Mom

...trying to keep sane while in chronic pelvic pain

Graceful Agony

Living your best life in spite of having chronic illness and pain

grUBER FIT

Health, Fitness, Experience, and Adventure

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Not From Around Here

Adventures as a Stranger in a Strange Land

Tea Time with Mandy

Only in Canada? Pity.

