Life is short.

Studies show that the most annoying sound to the human ear is a child crying or whining. That is how I am describing my pain this week: nails on a chalkboard, Pat Robertson’s voice on my TV, teeth grinding . For months I have come to this experience and blog with a silver lining, a We’re gonna make our dreams come true. Doin’ it our way mentality. But, that isn’t the whole picture. Sometimes there isn’t an F-ing rainbow in sight, it’s all Kansas from here to eternity.

Without my regular medication regimen I have become unable to find a position that does not hurt, except lying down completely on my right side. Not terribly conducive to my desk job or to entertaining young children, although the perfect position for a What Not to Wear marathon. I would do just about anything to get myself bed rest for the next 2 months, but it would bankrupt my little family. Seems people with conditions like mine do not qualify for disability insurance of any kind, I am scraping just to pay for my 8 week baby leave out of pocket (yes, Mr. Roberts, lets talk family values). If I think about the fact that I will only have 8 weeks to recover from a c-section, while continuing to deal with this pain, I may start crying and never stop.

You’ll find people swapping “how do you deal” stories in the pain support groups, we all have our ways. Mine usually involves considering meditation and then Googling desperately, hoping for some new research or diagnosis that will end all of this cleanly, in tandem with eating chocolate (insert drinking wine here, when not with child). I don’t think it actually helps, I’m just at the mercy of resource and some sort of manic ADD.

Yes, tomorrow is another day. And yes, a beautiful baby is ever so close. But on this 100 degree summer day, I am tempted to throw my Life is short Caribou mug at the head of the next person who asks is it hot enough for ya? Yes, yes it is , aren’t you clever. You might want to ice that welt.

Leave a Reply

The Littlest Rabbit

Just another WordPress.com weblog

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

SeasonedSistah2

Today is Better Than Yesterday

These Next 6 Months

It's all about perspective...

The New Melissa

Finding the new "normal" and creating a new life with migraine disease

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Chronically Inspired

Rising Above Pain Creatively

intoxreport.wordpress.com/

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

Living Life As I See Fit

Because There is More To Me Than Just Rheumatoid Arthritis & Fibromyalgia

The Diary of a Happy Mom: 40 and Beyond

The trials and tribulations of an adventurous modern mom

Pain In The Mom

...trying to keep sane while in chronic pelvic pain

Graceful Agony

Living your best life in spite of having chronic illness and pain

grUBER FIT

Health, Fitness, Experience, and Adventure

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Not From Around Here

Adventures as a Stranger in a Strange Land

Tea Time with Mandy

Only in Canada? Pity.

