Plain as Day

My husband and I never wanted to find out the gender of our first child early. Why would anyone want to ruin one of the last big surprises life has to offer? It seemed almost cynical, like finding out would ruin the magic somehow. Discovering that we had a daughter just added to the euphoria of seeing our infant for the first time.

Early into this pregnancy it was clear that our daughter was quite set on a sister. Five year olds do not necessarily have the tact or coping skills to handle this sort of disappointment gracefully, so we decided it was in her best interest to find out the gender. This baby and pregnancy has been as much hers as it has been ours  as she plans how to redecorate her soon-to-be-shared bedroom and counts down the months until she will be a big sister. It was surprisingly easy to let go of the old notion that early discovery would somehow effect our excitement. In fact, I think it became a bigger deal, now there was one day set aside for this detail alone. It was like Santa offering to bring your Christmas gifts in September.

I’m impressed that I slept at all, felt like a kid the night before her birthday. And, there were, of course, those lingering fears that the tech would find something wrong after these 19 weeks of elation.  We got to the part where he says, lets check out the gender and I was crawling out of my skin. He says that it is plain as day and I am immediately certain it is a boy – girls are just harder to call. “It’s a girl,” he says. My daughter pumps her fist and says “YES!” and I watch as he explains what we are seeing, my tears clouding the screen, dripping down my face.

And there it is, a little girl, my companion, dancing around in my belly, as healthy and loved as can be.  Somehow, knowing has made this time together even more precious to me. Watching my eldest grow so quickly before me, I treasure this time with my second daughter, while she is as close to me as we wish our children could be always.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tyra on April 9, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    What a beautiful, beautiful story Malia. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Littlest Rabbit

Just another WordPress.com weblog

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

SeasonedSistah2

Today is Better Than Yesterday

These Next 6 Months

It's all about perspective...

The New Melissa

Finding the new "normal" and creating a new life with migraine disease

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Chronically Inspired

Rising Above Pain Creatively

intoxreport.wordpress.com/

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

Living Life As I See Fit

Because There is More To Me Than Just Rheumatoid Arthritis & Fibromyalgia

The Diary of a Happy Mom: 40 and Beyond

The trials and tribulations of an adventurous modern mom

Pain In The Mom

...trying to keep sane while in chronic pelvic pain

Graceful Agony

Living your best life in spite of having chronic illness and pain

grUBER FIT

Health, Fitness, Experience, and Adventure

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Not From Around Here

Adventures as a Stranger in a Strange Land

Tea Time with Mandy

Only in Canada? Pity.

